Local Candidate Elections

Elected Officials

The Mayor and six Town Councilmembers are local elected officials. There are no term limits in Fountain Hills, so there is no limit to the number of times an incumbent may run for office.

  • The Mayor is elected for a 2 year term.
  • Town Councilmembers serve staggered 4 year terms. 
The terms of the following Mayor/Councilmembers will expire in December 2020. 

Mayor Ginny Dickey

Councilmember Dennis Brown

Councilmember Sherry Leckrone

Councilmember Art Tolis


Below are the official candidates for the August 4, 2020, election:


Ginny Dickey


Gerry Friedel
    Sharron "Blue" Grzybowski
    Peggy McMahon

Write-In Candidates

To run as a Write-In Candidate in the August 4, 2020, Primary Election, an individual must have  filed a Write-In Candidate Nomination Paper and Financial Disclosure Statement by June 25, 2020. No official write-in candidates filed.

Election Cycle

Town Council elections are held in the fall election cycle of even-numbered years and the 2020 Candidate Election will include the Primary Election to be held on August 4, 2020, and the General Election to be held on November 3, 2020. 

Unofficial Results

The unofficial results of the local Fountain Hills election are shown below (taken from the Maricopa County election results with 90 out of 99 Vote Centers reporting). The results will be canvassed by the Fountain Hills Town Council at their Special Meeting of August 24, 2020, at which time the final numbers (may differ from these) will become Official Results. These Official Results will be posted at that time.

All candidates for Mayor and Councilmember seats received a majority of votes cast and, therefore, a General Election will not be required. The Mayor-elect and Councilmembers-elect will take office at the first Regular Meeting in December 2020.


Dickey, Ginny 6,018


Friedel, Gerry 5,273
Grzybowski, Sharron "Blue" 4,931
McMahon, Peggy 5,151

While write-in votes were cast, they are not counted as there were no official write-in candidates.